Home

Über das MPIWG

Das MPIWG in Berlin ist eines von mehr als 80 Forschungsinstituten der MPG und wurde 1994 gegründet. Am Institut werden wissenschaftliches Denken und Handeln als historische Phänomene analysiert. Auf der Grundlage einer historischen Epistemologie wird untersucht, wie sich neue Kategorien des Denkens, des Beweisens und der Erfahrung in der Geschichte herausgebildet haben. Mehr

Projekte und Quellen

Am MPIWG wird in Einzel- und Gruppenprojekten geforscht. Ein Schlagwortindex erschließt die Projekte am Institut. Mehr

Das MPIWG engagiert sich für den offenen Zugang zu wissenschaftlichem Wissen und macht Quellen der Wissenschaftsgeschichte online verfügbar. Mehr

Aktuelles

Direktor Jürgen Renn veröffentlicht Artikel über die Gründung des „Centro Internazionale di Studi Telesiani, Bruniani e Campanelliani“ in Italien.

Zu Medien & Presse

Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung veröffentlicht Artikel zur Präsentation von Islamischer Geschichte auf der Berliner Science Week und zitiert die wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Sonja Brentjes. 

Zu Medien & Presse

New Articles and Preprints

Oertzen, C. v. (2017). Die Historizität der Verdatung: Konzepte, Werkzeuge und Praktiken im 19. Jahrhundert. NTM, 1-28. doi:10.1007/s00048-017-0183-6. Download

Mehr

Buning, M. (2017). Promoting technical knowledge: printing privileges and technical literature in the Early Dutch Republic. In L. Hilaire-Pérez, K. Vermeir, V. Nègre, & D. Spicq (Eds.), Le livre et les techniques avant le XXe siècle: à l’échelle du monde (pp. 453-462). Paris: CNRS éditions.

Mehr

Servicebox

Home

About the Institute

Founded in 1994, the MPIWG in Berlin is one of the more than eighty research institutes administered by the Max Planck Society. It is dedicated to the study of the history of science and aims to understand scientific thinking and practice as historical phenomena. Researchers pursue an historical epistemology in their studies of how new categories of thought, proof, and experience have emerged. More

Projects and Sources

Research at the MPIWG is carried out in individual and collaborative projects. To browse through the projects, use the keyword index of the institute. More

The MPIWG is an advocate of open access to scholarly knowledge and is committed to making sources in the history of science available online. More

News

Han Vermeulen, former research scholar of Department I, has received the ICAS book prize for his book Before Boas. Go to website

“How to live with bears”—Wilko Graf von Hardenberg, research scholar Department III, published an article in The Conversation.

Read more

New Articles and Preprints

Schlünder, M. (2017). Pastorale: sheep traffic in modern trauma surgery. In K. Asdal, T. Druglitrø, & S. Hinchliffe (Eds.), Humans, animals and biopolitics: the more-than-human condition (pp. 85-100). London: Routledge.

Read more

Time (and time again): temporality, criticality, and the historical imagination; a conversation with historian of science Lorraine Daston, interview by Andrew Yang [Special Issue]. (2017). Deep Time Chicago Pamphlet Series. Download

Read more

Servicebox