The MPIWG comprises three departments under the direction of Jürgen Renn (I), Lorraine Daston (II), and Dagmar Schäfer (III). Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, who headed Department III from 1995 to 2014, will remain at the MPIWG as emeritus. The three directors administer the institute collectively; the position of Executive Director rotates every two to three years. Since July 1st 2017, Jürgen Renn has served as Executive Director.

Besides the research departments, there are seven Research Groups (as of May 2013), each directed by one junior Research Group Leader or Coordinator. Various institutions, such as the Max Planck Society, the Volkswagen-Stiftung, and the German Research Fund (DFG), fund them. They are independent in their research programs.

The MPIWG is advised and evaluated every two to three years by the institute’s Advisory Board, which consists of leading international scholars in the history of science.

The research units’ activities are supported by the Administration (headed by Claudia Paaß), by the Research Coordinator and the IT Support unit (headed by Ohad Parnes), by the Library (headed by Esther Chen), by the Head of Cooperations and Communications (Hansjakob Ziemer), and by the Research IT Group.

Departments and Groups

Go to the overview of all departments and research groups at the MPIWG.

MPIWG's Research Report

Order the MPIWG’s biennial research report for 2013/14 for free by sending an e-mail to,
or use the download option.